Childish vs Childlike

This post was first published on my Tumblr on Jul 17, 2013, and is now updated with my experiences since then.

Yeap. This is my blog topic for today.

Essentially, these two adjectives have the same meaning. They both compare the qualities of someone to that of a prepubescent.

However, one of them carries a negative vibe to it. Why do people say childish to convey immaturity, but childlike to convey cuteness?

When I’m described as childish, it usually means I’m behaving without thinking. Just letting go of all the restrictions of society and just being happy. But I have the body of an adult, so because I can think like an adult, it means I should always behave like an adult.

Or so we’re led to believe.

I don’t see the problem with being childish every once in a while. Especially when I’m having fun playing outside. Some people are just so uptight because they’re so scared to lose control. I think when people see me being crazy happy, they get jealous because they can’t reach my level of bliss. So they call me childish and immature. It makes them feel better about themselves when they all agree that I’m not acting my age.

The truth is we never really grow up. We just masquerade as adults because that’s what we’re expected to do.

That’s the problem with society. We’re all such conformists that we lose who we truly are. Most other people have low self esteem and this makes them need to fit in even more. Because, if they don’t fit in, then who are they?

Don’t confuse my personality with my character. My personality is who I am, my character depends on the people I’m with.

I really admire people who are their own person. They’re so comfortable in their own skin that they’re free to do what they want without worrying about what others might think. Their mental strength and perception of themselves is so strong that nothing can shake it. That’s why I aim to be like them too.

Actually, I do care what others think of me. But only for the first few times we meet. Once I get comfortable, I get crazy. I’d like to be perceived more as childlike though. Playful, happy, innocent.

Okay, maybe not “innocent”. Heh heh heh.

You don’t have to conform to others all the time. Take a chance, be different. Who knows? People might actually like you better for it. So go ahead, be childish, be childlike. Let loose.

You laugh at me because I’m different. I laugh at you because you’re all the same.

-Jace

Talk wordy to me

