Organizing… again

This post was first published on my Tumblr on Mar 16, 2013, and is now updated with my experiences since then.

Once again, I find myself organizing activities. At least this time I have some form of support.

I’m talking about Wunning Man, the games my friend and I planned in the same vein as the popular Korean variety show Running Man. After Wunning Man 1, we both learnt a lot, and this Saturday is the second one we’ve planned: Wunning Man 2.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t regret planning this; it’s just so hard sometimes. We expected 10-12 players, but we were stuck with six. Whenever I plan, I usually have backup plans in case something goes wrong. I’ve learnt to have plan Cs and Ds as well, because of Murphy’s Law.

Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.

Doesn’t matter how many plans I have, it doesn’t soften the blow, or feeling of failure when plan A fails. I like to be as perfect as possible, even though my motto states that there is no such thing. I put in so much effort into plan A and when it goes wrong, it just feels like my efforts were wasted.

Then again, my plan Bs, Cs and Ds are usually salvage plans. Salvage plans don’t feel good.

It’s not just the (seeming) loss of efforts that discourage me. I crave appreciation and most of the time I don’t feel appreciated for what I’ve done. Take for example the class graduation video I did. If it wasn’t for Dawei, well, I don’t think I’d have felt validated. He was so dramatic in his thanks and I felt so flattered. It’s what makes him such a good friend. (Sounds like I’m friendzoning him LOL). Just his appreciation made me feel that it was worth doing the video.

I think appreciation is important and I do my best to give credit where credit is due. I think a little exaggeration or drama is good. Flattery is always good with appreciation. It just makes it more fun and brightens up the receiver’s day.

The only downside of planning Wunning Man 2 is that I don’t get to participate in the games. Because I know all the secrets, I can’t allow myself to play, else it would be unfair to the other players. Not to mention it’d be unfun for me. I love to find stuff, crack codes and decipher riddles, so I create the games that way. However, one of the lessons I learnt was that I made the game too difficult. What I consider fun is very different from what other people consider fun. I guess I still have to learn that lesson, since life keeps throwing it in my face.

I wish someone would plan for me.

-Jace

Talk wordy to me

