Soylent

I don’t remember where I found out about Soylent, but ever since I learned about the concept, I loved it. Here’s the official site.

Here’s a summary of what I understand about Soylent. It’s an efficient food substitute. Soylent has everything a human body needs to survive and theoretically a person could survive on nothing else but Soylent. It comes in a powder form that you just add water to and drink. I really liked the convenience of this.

It’s targeted at people who are always on the move, people who don’t like to cook and clean up and people who need food in hard to reach places (like astronauts, or when you go camping). I think it could also have military purposes.

Soylent was created by Robert Rhinehart and I followed his blog as he was testing it on himself. He spent a whole month living off nothing but self-made Soylent. For the whole month, he reported clarity of though, feeling more energetic, slimmed down and pooped less. I was quite tickled with the “pooping less” part because it made sense and I hadn’t thought of that. Since your body uses up almost all the ingredients in Soylent, there’s very little waste material leftover and thus you poop less.

I remember he said that it actually tasted quite nice when all the ingredients were just right and that if there was too much or too little of an ingredient, the drink would taste off. He could actually TASTE the “wrongness” of the drink! There were other individuals all over the world who started making their own version of Soylent with varying amounts of success. The good thing about making your own Soylent was that you could customize it to your own needs and lifestyle. For example, if you’re a body builder, you might add more protein, and if you want an energy boost you might add more caffeine.

The name comes from the novel Make Room! Make Room!, which was the basis of the show Soylent Green. Soylent does have a negative feel to it because of it’s connection to the show, which had cannibalism. It seems to me that people are on the extreme ends of opinions about Soylent. They either love it, like me, or hate it. I mean the concept, not the product itself. But I don’t understand why.

First there’s the name, but I think that’s just bad marketing. Sure, Robert Rhinehart could have chosen a different name, I think he wanted to capture the concept. Why come up with a new name that people are just going to say “oh it’s like Soylent Green then”? Besides, the name come from the book, which was about overpopulation and didn’t have cannibalism.

Some people hate Soylent because they think it will totally replace food and the joy of cooking. To these people I say you’re all idiots. Soylent is NOT COMPULSORY. It’s a choice. If you want to keep eating and cooking food, then fine, go ahead. There’s no need to hate on Soylent, the people who make it and the people who love it. Why hate someone for choosing to be efficient? There’s a lot more to enjoy about life than just eating.

Some people don’t like Soylent because they say humans aren’t meant to live on one thing forever; we need varying tastes. Again, Soylent is a choice. If I want to drink Soylent instead of eating, then I and I alone will “suffer” the consequence of blandness. I think I can live with that. It’s a small price to pay, if any, for efficiency, very little cleaning and stability.

My best friend, Song, and I are planning a six-month trip to explore Europe after our NS, so I thought Soylent might be useful here. I foresee that sometimes we’ll need to keep moving, or food will hard to get or unsafe to eat. I have a lot of allergies, so I really have to watch what I eat. Soylent will give me that peace of mind, knowing that I have something safe and nutritious to eat. It’s my safety net.

Right now it can only be shipped within USA, but I’ve asked my aunt who lives there to let me order Soylent using her address and then getting her to ship it over to me. At the time of this writing, I’ve just asked her and I’m waiting for her reply, so we’ll see.

Update on 22 June
Aunt says okay! I’ve got their address, so I’m going to order it the next time I have access to my laptop.

-Jace

Talk wordy to me

