Epic Rap Battles of History

EPIC RAP BATTLES OF HISTORYYYYYYYY!!!

Okay yeah I’m a huge fan. I’ve watched every single rap battle ever since I found them. And I’ve memorized a few of them too. So far, I’ve got down Adam VS Eve, Master Chief VS Leonidas, Michael Jackson VS Elvis Presley, Bill Gates VS Steve Jobs and Turtles VS Artists.

What? I had some free time. *shrug*

Okay okay, I practice while I’m in the shower. #bathroomrapper

I’m really good, but it seems like the guys in the other shower stalls don’t always agree with me. Hmph. :

Is it sad that I ERB myself?

Anyway, I love ERB because they’re so creative with their words. Not only do they rhyme, they follow the character’s style very closely. It’s really entertaining the way they stay true to the character and rap well at the same time.

I tell you, if history lessons were taught this way, I’d be very interested in history. It’s fun to just watch the characters battle, but if you truly understand each character’s quirks and habits, you really appreciate it a lot more. Captain Kirk has an obvious style, but I’m not familiar with him. I’m sure that if I was a Trekkie I’d be laughing my ass off.

Another example is Master Chief VS Leonidas. I was partway through learning this rap when I watched 300 again. I watched it because I had the sequel and I needed to watch it in order. They were awesome shows and I finally understood the reference by Master Chief when he said “you will not enjoy this, but it will be over quickly”. I love these small references that are obvious only to true fans of the characters.

There have been some female rappers on ERB (Adam VS Eve, Sarah Palin VS Lady Gaga, Cleopatra VS Marilyn Monroe and Miley Cyrus VS Joan of Arc) but I don’t think the actresses chosen were really good. Except for Eve, Sarah Palin and Lady Gaga, the rest lacked….. attitude. My favourite is Eve because she was played by Jenna Marbles, someone I know has attitude. That’s the kind of rapper ERB needs.

It’s very interesting to see different styles of rapping by different characters, not only the differences in each character’s own style, but also the differences in rap styles chosen to blend with each character.

So far there are three seasons for ERB. Here’s the playlists for Season 1, Season 2 and Season 3. Enjoy!

I can’t wait for Season 4 to start!

-Jace

Talk wordy to me

