Ingress – 18 Uniquely Singapore Mission Series

Last Friday night, a few Enlightened agents and I completed the 18 Uniquely Singapore missions in order. Each completed mission gives us a mission badge and, when all 18 are completed in order, the images of the badges align nicely to form a map of Singapore. This mission series was created by Enlightened player FortMax.

Here’s what it looks like, as well as all 18 locations.

01 Uniquely Singapore Mission Locations

I predict that the Ingress players who read this post will want the full instructions and tips, so I’m giving it up front first. The rest of the post will be a personal recount of our experience doing all 18 missions. Here’s what you need to know if you want to do the missions yourself:

This picture is all you need. Just download it into you mobile and go play.
All the missions are at the MRT stations. If the location is underground, you’ll have to go to the surface to get the signal, which means you’ll have to tap out of the station. I don’t think there are any missions that can be completed without tapping out of the station.
Each mission consists of hacking four nearby portals, so a very efficient player shouldn’t take more than five minutes to complete them. Unless you want to glyph hack, which I highly recommend, given the new Translator badge.
If you complete them all by MRT, you’ll take about a whole day, so start early, or do it over two days.
– If you go by car, you’ll travel about 140km and take about eight hours or so.
Make sure your device is fully charged and bring at least two portable chargers or spare batteries. I started with 73% and two fully charged portables (3000mAh and 10000mAh) and I still wound up with 7% on my mobile and two completely drained chargers when I got home.
Do prepare water. Lots of water. And perhaps snacks. If you’re going by train, it might be a good idea to pack sandwiches so that you can keep moving.

I have several other mission-specific tips as well, like problem portals, but you’ll have to read the rest of the post.

We started at 11pm on Friday, 30th January. Our team consisted of my dad (Crossbow88), Yi Hong (chikidi28), Nicole (draconitas) and me (JaceTan). My dad had planned it out and estimated we would need about five hours to finish and have a snack at 4am to celebrate. I thought we would finish the missions quickly and take less time, but it turns out we took just over eight and a half hours from leaving to returning home, including our snack break at about 4.30am.

My estimation sucked. 😦

Anyway, before the mission started, my dad and I decided to have a late dinner. My mobile was at 100% when we left to eat at about 8.30pm, but we did some fielding on our home ground, doing our best to use up our items and glyph hack. We both managed to get the Bronze Translator badge (200 points), but I utterly failed at using up my items. I ended up 1998 items in my inventory, even after recycling all the useless keys and weapons I had, and consuming cubes to recharge all the Enlightened portals I had keys for. As we headed to ECP to get to Raffles MRT (our first stop), I managed to glyph hack the last portal before we hit the highway, pushing me to 2008 items in my inventory.

Sigh.

We had quite a bit of fun chatting on the way there and as we neared Raffles, my dad asked us to guide him to Raffles MRT, so I looked at my Ingress map. At one traffic light, he asked if he should turn right or go straight. Our target was half right, so both ways were fine. So I said, “Both ways are fine, but turn right… there are more portals this way.” We all had a good laugh at that.

Raffles MRT area was full of Resistance portals, so I was busy releasing X6s and deploying Resonators and Mods to free up space in my inventory, which I kept refilling via glyph hacking. One of the portals was really difficult to reach because it was inside a building and our GPS kept getting messed up because of the tall buildings. We spent half an hour here walking back and forth before finally touching the last portal and finishing the mission. My dad wanted to take pictures as proof, so here’s a selfie I took at Raffles Place. I was quite reluctant to do so because I’m quite uncomfortable with selfies that I take alone.

02 Raffles Place MRT

The next stop was Dhoby Gaut MRT. We were surprised at the number of cars on the road, even thought it was past 12am. Anyway, we completed this mission relatively quickly, since dad found a public car park. We were able to spend a little more time linking and creating fields as well. I forgot to take a picture at the Dhoby Gaut MRT sign, but we were already halfway back to the car, so I took a picture with my dad at the Istana Festival Arch.

03 Dhoby Gaut Istana Festival Arch

After that, we headed off to Orchard MRT. Dad parked at the back and we went to do the mission. This one also had another annoying portal inside Ion Orchard which we could only reach by walking back and forth and catching it as our GPS corrected itself. This mission took another 30 mins. I was too annoyed to take a selfie, so I just took a picture of Ion Orchard.

04 Ion Orchard

Once we all finally managed to drift into the portal’s range, we headed off to Bishan MRT. This mission was quite simple, although one of the portals required walking all the way through Junction 8 to the bus interchange. The four portals form a very neat stack, so I recommend taking the time to hack and stack.

05 Bishan MRT

Next stop, Yishun MRT station. This mission required quite a bit of walking, but only slightly more than the Bishan mission.

06 Yishun MRT

After Yishun, I stopped taking photos because we wanted to do the missions quickly and move on, so I have no photos for Woodlands, Choa Chu Kang and Jurong East. CCK area was fun because all four portals were clustered together and all were accessible from the road. There were no cars, so dad stopped by the road side and we could all hack without getting out of the car. CCK was also completely under Resistance control, so we unleashed our weapons and consumed cubes to destroy as much as we could. It was quite satisfying to convert five portals and unload a lot of our items.

Clementi MRT was our next stop and our halfway mark. We decided to take a group photo here after we completed the mission since the lighting was relatively better than our previous stops.

07 Clementi MRT

It looks like we took a picture with the Toilet sign XD

At this point, it was a little past 4am and we were getting hungry, so we went for prata. These missions were taking twice as long as my dad had predicted; we were supposed to have ended by now, or at least nearing the end. I blame the missions in city area, where we had so much difficulty hacking the portals that were out of reach. I figured that once we started hitting the East side, we wouldn’t have much problems. I’d already done the Paya Lebar, Bedok, Tampines and Pasir Ris missions before, so I knew that they were all easily accessible. I still had to redo them in order to align them nicely.

Anyway, we soldiered on, the next stop being Tanjong Pagar. This was a quick one and we all finished quickly except dad, because we were able to hack the portals as he parked. Heh. Then we hit Bugis. I managed to snag the far portal while dad drove past, but the others didn’t so after we parked, they crossed the road to do the mission. I finished up on my side then hacked and converted seven other portals while waiting for them.

We quickly finished up the next four East missions, then headed up to the northeast area. We spent a bit of time at Sengkang too, because of another unreachable portal. I kept walking back and forth through the sheltered interchange, trying to “catch” the portal when I drifted into range. Took me four attempts before I got it. We decided to take another picture at Sengkang before we left.

08 Sengkang MRT

When we left Sengkang, the sky had just begun to brighten and Hougang was bustling with activity by the time we reached it. The Hougang mission was also quite a bit of a walk, so we spent a bit of time here. We took the opportunity for a toilet break as well. I think that was my first toilet break since we started the whole mission. I really sweated out most of the water I put into myself.

Serangoon’s mission was at Nex mall and all the portals were accessible from the rooftop. Dad parked the multi-storey car park and we crossed the bridge to Nex. We kept ascending the rooftops until we found a space that allowed us to reach the last portal.

Finally! We had finished all 18 missions!!! And here’s proof:

09 18 Missions Complete

Thanks a lot, FortMax. Couldn’t have made it a nice circuit, so we wouldn’t have to drive 140km in such a weird way. -.-

I took a screenshot of my stats before and after we finished the missions, so here they are:

10 Status Before
Before

11 Status After
After

Almost 300,000 AP gained
201 Unique Hacks
11km walking distance
Deployed nearly 700 resonators
Created 69 links *snigger*
Closed 24 fields
Captured 60 portals, of which 51 were new to me
Destroyed almost 300 enemy resonators which neutralized 35 portals, taking down 71 links and 32 fields in the process
Of the 18 missions, 11 were new to me
Hacked over 330 times, netting almost 550 glyph points.

-Jace

Talk wordy to me

