Title

Oh no.

I’m feeling it again. That downward spiral of playing game after game after game. Once again these games are piling up until one day I’m going to explode and delete them all. I’m barely keeping up with maintaining my blog. It’s not that I don’t have stuff to talk about (I have many, thanks to the daily prompts), it’s just that I’ve been so lazy.

See, I’ve been so lazy I can’t even be bothered to think of a quip for a title now.

What? If Megan Trainor can do it, so can I, so there.

Anyway. I’ve been wasting so much time during my off days instead of doing useful stuff like programming or writing or running. Even doing research on card prices for Magic: the Gathering (MTG) would be better than the dumb games I’m playing. Okay, not dumb. Just time consuming.

Hearthstone. Oh man I’m addicted to this game. Every time I return home after two days of work, playing it one of the first things I do. Because I can accumulate up to three daily quests, I usually spend my time playing until I finish all the quests I’ve accumulated. If I’m lucky, the quests will overlap and I can finish them in half the time I would have needed, but that doesn’t happen very often and so I end up spending three to four hours playing. I guess it’s my fix for MTG, because Hearthstone is essentially the dumbed-down and free version.

Hearthstone is my number one major time waster at home and the only reason I play at home is because I can’t do so in the guardroom during my off duty hours. Speaking of which, mobile games are starting to creep back into my life again. Ascension, Crossy Road, Mobfish and Scramble are just some of the mobile apps I’ve downloaded to pass the time.

I’m ashamed to say that I’ve not read a single storybook this year.

During our off hours, we’ve been playing board games in the guardroom as well. Risk and Mastermind seem to have become our go-to games during stand-down times and Risk games last well into the night. Now I spend more time playing games than I watching movies.

What the heck am I doing with my life -.-

Apart from MTG, Ingress is the only game I don’t regret playing because it makes me walk. Doing the missions also gives me topics to blog about. I’m currently writing about mission series that I do with my Dad and some other players which are part reflection and part instructional for other players to follow. We’re almost done with our second mission series, which we’ll finish this Sunday. Finally! That post had been sitting in draft mode for almost two months.

Speaking of exercise, I haven’t done much besides weekly dance sessions, semi-daily pull-ups (so far I’m only back at 15 pull-ups in a row) and short 1.5km runs during my working days. I’m doing my best to do some intensive exercise at least once a week, whether it be as strenuous as a hard hour of parkour training, or as relaxing as a three hour Ingress mission.

Sigh.

I think I’ll give myself til the end of March to get over this, then delete all the minor games on my phone and bring some books to read in the guardroom.

-Jace

Talk wordy to me

