Money Digest’s Customer Service

I’m back! Yeah okay, I know, I know, I’ve been out from the writing world for about nine months and a lot has happened since then. But this amazing thing happened to me last week and I just had to write about it.

As you can tell from the title, this post is going to be a review of the way Money Digest treated me. I started following MD’s Facebook Page a few months back and set the notifications to let me know whenever they post something new. Money Digest frequently posts about places that have discounts, or value deals, or generic articles on how to stretch your dollar. I mostly look out for discounts and every so often I find a discount that I can actually use, like I did last week.

I saw this article and I just knew that I had to take advantage of it. 18% off all deals, with extra 2% off if you’re on the mobile app and no minimum spending?? Groupon is already known for it’s cheap deals so getting an extra 20% off is super awesome. I immediately started browsing for something I could buy. However, when I finally found something decent, I was unable to apply the 18OFF code. When I entered the code, I would just get pushed back to the Confirm Purchase page, but with the Confirm Purchase button disabled. I entered the code several times each for different items, but each time I tried it I got the same result, leaving me with nothing else to do but go back and restart the purchase flow all over, or exit the Groupon app completely.

I was disappointed, to say the least, and I said as much when I commented on MD’s Facebook post. I figured it was a bug with the app, so I gave step by step instructions on exactly how to recreate the bug. Being a programmer myself, I appreciate feedback like this because it lets me easily trace the whole process, figure out where things go wrong and fix it. I thought it would be helpful for the Groupon software team because everyone else who had experienced the same bug and commented on MD’s Facebook post just kept saying that the code didn’t work. There were no constructive comments save for mine.

Since I didn’t really need to use the code, I gave up using it at all. Later that night, Money Digest sent me a private message, which is exactly what I want to share with the world. Take a look.

01 MD Convo 1

02 MD Convo 2

03 MD Convo 3

04 MD Convo 4

05 MD Convo 5

I LITERALLY GOT A FREE GROUPON!!! I ain’t even kidding. And here’s proof.

06 Groupon Voucher

(I’ve already used the voucher, so don’t even think of using it yourself :P)

IT’S A $10 CASH VOUCHER. FOR ICE CREAM. AWWW YISSS

They were so kind to offer to buy it for me and let me use it before I paid them, but I didn’t think it was worth the trouble for all of us. I felt bad, because it wasn’t their fault and I wanted Groupon to fix the bug, not for Money Digest to offer a workaround. And, like I said, I didn’t really need to use the Groupon anyway.

The initial Groupon was $5.90, so after the 18OFF discount (MD had no trouble using the code and I think they used the web browser, not the mobile app) it actually cost them about $4.84. It’s not much in the grand scheme of things, but it’s $10 of value to me, which is a lot. And Money Digest has now gained a loyal fan (which I hope means a lot to them as well XD). MD really didn’t have to do that for me. They’ve really gone above and beyond what I expect of customer service, so I’m writing this article to express my gratitude, appreciation and amazement.

I used the Groupon last Monday with my girlfriend (yes I have a girlfriend now. Like I said, a lot has happened in the last nine months) and we had a blast. We went to the outlet at Somerset and ordered a Chocolate Ball with a scoop of Vanilla Bean ice cream, which totalled up to $11.80, meaning that I just paid $1.80! And oh my the vanilla was sooooooo gooood and the chocolate ball was a novel thing. As you can see from the pictures below, it’s a ball of biscuits covered in a layer of dark chocolate. There were other flavours as well, like white chocolate, strawberry chocolate and chocolate with peanuts.

Here’s us with our purchases. They gave us a wooden hammer, because you’re supposed to wrap the ball up in the paper and have a fun time smashing it to bits. The next picture below shows the inside of the chocolate biscuit ball after we smashed it.

09 Chocolate Ball Innards

Oops, it doesn’t look very appetising, does it? I don’t think I took a good picture, but in all honesty, the biscuits inside were quite plain and dry. I’d expected more chocolate, roughly evenly distributed inside so it was a bit disappointing. We ended up dipping the biscuit bits into our vanilla ice cream. Chocolate sauce was provided with the ball, but I preferred the vanilla ice cream as a dip. I personally wouldn’t order the chocolate ball again, but it was a novel experience that I wouldn’t have gotten if it weren’t for Money Digest going the extra mile to make me happy.

Thanks, Money Digest!

-Jace

Talk wordy to me

